PDA

View Full Version : Laptop for Online Gaming

FStop
10-23-2008, 07:45 AM
Hello,

I've decided that I want to buy a laptop for gaming, and I was referred to this site by a friend of mine (who bought his Sager from here about one year ago). He has really recommended a Sager, and so I think I'm going to go with that. So without further delay...

1) What is your budget?

I would like to keep it below $2200 if at all possible.

2) What size notebook would you prefer?

17" would be best, since this is a desktop replacement.

3) Please select your country's flag as a post icon and tell us what country are you buying this in.

I'm from Edmonton, Alberta, Canada (sorry, couldn't find the post icon).

4) Are there any brands that you prefer or any you really don't like?

I'll be buying a Sager.

5) What tasks will you be performing with the notebook?

I'll be using it for online gaming mostly. I'm an engineer, so AutoCAD would be a plus for sure, although that's certainly not very taxing ;)

6) Will you be taking the notebook with you to different places or leaving it on your desk?

I'm a student, so the ability to take it with me is certainly nice.

7) Will you be playing games on it; if so, which games?

Absolutely. Games: Red Alert 3, Day of Defeat: Source, Starcraft 2 (when it comes out next century), Call of Duty 4, Command and Conquer 3.

8) How many hours of battery life do you need?

Doesn't really matter. At least two would be nice.

9) Do you mind buying online without seeing the notebook in person?

Yeah. My friend bought from you guys, and he said good things.

10) What OS do you prefer? Windows (XP or Vista), Mac OS, Linux, etc.

Vista 64-bit (I need those 4 gigs...)

Screen Specifics

11) Would you prefer standard or widescreen?

Widescreen only.

12) From the choices below, what screen resolutions would you prefer? (more details below)

Widescreen