PDA

View Full Version : Overclocked my HD 3650!



powerpack
12-10-2008, 04:26 AM
My 3DMark 06 score went from 3,907 to 4,302.

My Asus F8VA-C1 comes with core speed of 600Mhz and memory of 400Mhz. I OC'd to 650Mhz core and 500Mhz memory. Added 400 points. I have stopped for now. I don't have sensors on GPU but CPU gets up to 150F 66C.

Just wanted to share. ;):eek:

Theoretical went from:

600/400
12.8GB/s bandwidth
144GFLOPS
2400MPixels/s
4800MTexels/s

650/500
16GB/s bandwidth
156GFLOPS
2600MPixels/s
5200MTexels/s

Might go higher. :D

700/600 did not work. Artifacts my desktop. Decided likely one or the other. Set at 725/500 no problems. 3DMark 4,591. Does not surprise me 600Mhz did not work. I am guessing the latencies cause instability at that speed. I mean that is the problem with faster RAM higher timings? Since I can't change timings will settle for slower. And while I know GDDR3 is different than DDR. I am assuming much as PC3-8500 offers little over PC2-6400 because of timings and doubt just as RAM on notebooks never gets close to the theoretical bandwidth suspect similar with GPU's.

Any comment? Warnings? Might try 550Mhz memory? Might get close to 4,700 3DMark?

Knocking on the door of 8700m GT in a 14".

550Mhz does not work becomes unstable above 500Mhz memory.

Woody
12-10-2008, 01:51 PM
Warnings? LOL! yeah! be careful with that.

Have you tried using GPUz to see if you have any temperature sensors in that card?

I'd be really careful not knowing the temperatures. It's fun but I've damaged video cards before and a laptop's not a good place to test stuff like that.

powerpack
12-10-2008, 07:42 PM
Yea Woody warnings and cautions are always a good idea. I have never OC'd a GPU. I did OC my CPU on my previous notebook and I still have it. I try and watch heat. I use GPU-Z to confirm clocks. It does not see any sensor nether do several others I have tried.

While I know CPU temp is not the best judge of GPU temp it is all I have. I said CPU get up to 150F 3DMark. After more benching that is during the CPU tests. 140F when benching the GPU.

Anyway I am using AMD GPU Clock Tool. Does not allow to set as default/startup. I think that is a good thing. I never set OC's to start by default. Also I never OC for doing office tasks. Doing this is well idle hands and the "Devils" tools and all. I am just testing. Playing around and all.

I would like if either Justin or anyone at Xotic could give us the actual core and memory speeds of the cards on their notebooks (GPU-Z). All the information is very bad on the Internet. That includes notebookcheck as always lists the highest. MFG's set the actual speeds. So they vary even more than type of memory. GPU review is cool but limited mobile cards and the people who run do not know the difference between DDR and bus bandwidth. Emailed them last night to inform them of their mistakes.

So how about core/memory on your cards? Just for fun?

powerpack
12-27-2008, 10:27 PM
I went nuts! Here it is guys!

Orthos
http://flynntechsolutions.com/orthos.jpg
3DMark06
http://flynntechsolutions.com/3dmark.jpg
SiSoft RAM Bandwidth
http://flynntechsolutions.com/sisoft.jpg
SiSoft CPU
http://flynntechsolutions.com/sisoftcpu.jpg

Woody
12-29-2008, 11:21 PM
That's very cool. Nice job and your CPU temps seem pretty reasonable even when running all out at those speeds.

How hot is the GPU getting?

powerpack
12-29-2008, 11:36 PM
No temp sensor I think? So must guess all is good. Any ideas?

Woody
01-23-2009, 10:17 AM
Hey powerpack! How's that crazy overclock working out for you? Still running strong? ;-)