PDA

View Full Version : Installing Robson Turbo Memory after a Windows Install



Justin@XoticPC
07-03-2008, 05:02 PM
If you have purchased a laptop and want to install Robson you will need to do a few things before enabling it in bios.

1. Go into Windows and apply this Microsoft recommended registry patch (http://support.microsoft.com/kb/922976)

2. Reboot and press F2 to enter the system BIOS.

3. On the Advanced screen, enable Intel Robson

4. Press F10 to save and exit.

5. Boot into Vista and re-install the Intel Turbo Memory driver found on the drivers CD at D:\Others\07Robson\setup.exe

Zatara214
08-28-2008, 02:33 PM
Out of curiosity, what is the difference in version 2.0? I have had 1 GB of this in my current laptop, the Asus F3SA-A1, and it did absolutely nothing per generation 1. However, I have heard VERY good things about generation 2, such as a control panel and whatnot. But I can't really find any decent information on it...

Avid Gamer
08-29-2008, 02:29 PM
Out of curiosity, what is the difference in version 2.0? I have had 1 GB of this in my current laptop, the Asus F3SA-A1, and it did absolutely nothing per generation 1. However, I have heard VERY good things about generation 2, such as a control panel and whatnot. But I can't really find any decent information on it...

The biggest difference between version 1.0 and 2.0 Turbo Memory is that 2.0 has an option called Pinning which allows you to put files and programs into turbo memory, so that they can be accessed faster (since memory data will load much faster than data being read from the hard drive). Beyond that 2.0 also gives you the option of deciding how much memory you want to assign to the ReadyBoost feature (in version 1.0 memory was automatically assigned to ReadyDrive and ReadyBoost, and allocation levels could not be controled).

Another way of thinking about it is that normally Windows makes a decision of what and when it loads data into memory. Pinning could be thought of as you controlling and deciding what to run in memory.

Here is more information on Intel Pinning using Turbo Memory:
http://www.intel.com/design/flash/nand/turbomemory/

iraqgsm
09-01-2008, 06:33 AM
Hi Justin Can You Confirm That Asus G50v-a1 Have Robson Slot And Can We Install The 4gb Version

Zatara214
09-03-2008, 09:05 AM
The biggest difference between version 1.0 and 2.0 Turbo Memory is that 2.0 has an option called Pinning which allows you to put files and programs into turbo memory, so that they can be accessed faster (since memory data will load much faster than data being read from the hard drive). Beyond that 2.0 also gives you the option of deciding how much memory you want to assign to the ReadyBoost feature (in version 1.0 memory was automatically assigned to ReadyDrive and ReadyBoost, and allocation levels could not be controled).

Another way of thinking about it is that normally Windows makes a decision of what and when it loads data into memory. Pinning could be thought of as you controlling and deciding what to run in memory.

Here is more information on Intel Pinning using Turbo Memory:
http://www.intel.com/design/flash/nand/turbomemory/

Ok so here's my next question: I have the 1 GB first generation module in my Asus laptop. If I take it out, can I put it in my new laptop (NP8660)? Is there a difference between the interfaces of generations 1 and 2?

It might not give me that big of a performance boost, but it does save battery life quite well.

Avid Gamer
09-04-2008, 11:55 PM
Ok so here's my next question: I have the 1 GB first generation module in my Asus laptop. If I take it out, can I put it in my new laptop (NP8660)? Is there a difference between the interfaces of generations 1 and 2?

It might not give me that big of a performance boost, but it does save battery life quite well.

I've read of one person using a 1 GB turbo memory chip successfully in a new notebook, but that wasn't originally from an Asus notebook and it wasn't placed in a Sager notebook (so there is a good chance it will work, but it has yet to be confirmed).

Jassper
09-05-2008, 05:51 AM
Hi Justin Can You Confirm That Asus G50v-a1 Have Robson Slot And Can We Install The 4gb Version

I would like to know this as well for the G50V-A2.

Avid Gamer
09-05-2008, 05:19 PM
Hi Justin Can You Confirm That Asus G50v-a1 Have Robson Slot And Can We Install The 4gb Version


I would like to know this as well for the G50V-A2.

Justin may be able to provide a better answer, but here is what I think.

Its unlikely that Turbo Memory could be put in a G50v since the link below shows the inside of the G50v-a1 (the a2 looks the same), and there is no visible turbo memory slot.

http://xs.to/xs.php?h=xs230&d=08352&f=g50va1layoutblur714.jpg
(image taken by ViciousXUSMC for his A1 exposed article on www.notebookreview.com)

If there was a slot it would look something like the picture below:

M50Vm Turbo Memory slot:
http://img233.imageshack.us/img233/4089/m50vmturbomemoryslotsv5.jpg (http://imageshack.us)
http://img233.imageshack.us/img233/4089/m50vmturbomemoryslotsv5.55cfb0a609.jpg (http://g.imageshack.us/g.php?h=233&i=m50vmturbomemoryslotsv5.jpg)

Jassper
09-05-2008, 09:43 PM
Justin may be able to provide a better answer, but here is what I think.

Its unlikely that Turbo Memory could be put in a G50v since the link below shows the inside of the G50v-a1 (the a2 looks the same), and there is no visible turbo memory slot.

http://xs.to/xs.php?h=xs230&d=08352&f=g50va1layoutblur714.jpg
(image taken by ViciousXUSMC for his A1 exposed article on www.notebookreview.com)


Yah, I opend mine up, didn't see a slot for it, but didn't take out HDs or anything to see if it was underneath something.

What about the card reader slot, or PCMCIA, could that be used as extended ram?