PDA

View Full Version : Please Help Me Select a New Notebook

maiappraiser99@gmail.com
07-28-2008, 09:38 PM
Hi Gang,

I have already learned a lot from the this forum but would like a few expert opinions before going forward with my purchase. I am a self-employed business owner that needs to purchase a new laptop. I have had Dells in the past and recently a Toshiba Tecra that is aging fast. I don't do much gaming but write and edit large word and graphic files and a lot of multitasking. I use a docking station at my office connected to a small network as well as a home network. I will also use the laptop for streaming video to an external HDTV flat screen and will have it hooked up to a 2nd monitor most of the time for work. I need a reliable machine but like the power and speed of the new prcoessers. Will be using Dragon Naturally Speaking Software. I was looking at the HP Dv5t but worried about the build quality. My HP Slimline motherboard just went after 7 months. Don't mind buying a less known brand if the quality is there. Want to spend around $1,500 maybe a little more if needed. Any recommendations and/or configurations would be appreciated.

Scott

General Questions

1) What is your budget? $1,500 - $1,700

2) What size notebook would you prefer?

a. Ultraportable; 12" screen or less
b. Thin and Light; 13" - 14" screen

c. Mainstream; 15" - 16" screen

d. Desktop Replacement; 17"+ screen

3) Please select your country's flag as a post icon and tell us what country are you buying this in. USA

4) Are there any brands that you prefer or any you really don't like? NO

5) What tasks will you be performing with the notebook? Business and Home Media

6) Will you be taking the notebook with you to different places or leaving it on your desk? Mostly back and forth from office. Desktop Replacement.

7) Will you be playing games on it; if so, which games? Not a lot of gaming but use large graphic files with word, photoshop, etc.